The new BMW R 1200 GS named 2013 Pirelli Bike of The Year in South Africa

Written by:

P90131737-highResWith just two months on the local market, the new BMW R 1200 GS has been named the 2013 Pirelli Bike of The Year. The announcement took place last weekend during the official opening of the AMID Motorcycle Lifestyle Show in Nasrec, South of Johannesburg.

Sponsored by Pirelli and organised by Mat Durrans as well as Harry Fisher of Ignition TV’s The Bike Show, and involving thirteen members of the South African motorcycling media as well as professional motorcyclists, the competition pitted 16 new-for-2013 motorcycles against each other for the overall title. The judges voted for their top six bikes, best first, and then points were awarded in the order 10, 6, 4, 3, 2, 1 for first to sixth place. These points were totalled and a winner declared.

“We are very delighted to receive this accolade. The BMW GS concept has embodied riding pleasure and the desire for adventure for over 30 years and the new R 1200 GS is living up to that legacy with its new technology and overall features,” said Rob Holder, General Manager of BMW Motorrad in South Africa.

The new BMW R 1200 GS features a completely redesigned engine with 1170cc, 92kW of power and 125Nm of torque. New features include the vertical-flow cylinder head and the compact air and water cooling. Other features worthy of mention are the first semi active suspension in a travel enduro bike called Dynamic ESA, five riding modes with Enduro ASC and Enduro ABS as well as the first full LED headlamp with integrated daytime running lights.

The competition’s judging process took part over two days in Gauteng. Day one was at Midvaal Raceway and a track venue was used – not to see how fast the bikes could lap the circuit – but as a controlled environment where each member of the judging panel could ride every bike and assess it over the same piece of tarmac.

Day two saw the bikes being ridden on the open road from the Vaal dam to Magaliesburg where a 10km loop of open roads had been marked out for further assessment.

The 16 finalists were chosen from nominations by the official importers in South Africa and were as follows;

  1. Triumph Trophy SE,
  2. Triumph Daytona 675R,
  3. BMW R1200GS Liquid-Cooled,
  4. KTM 1190 Adventure,
  5. MV Agusta Brutale 800,
  6. Kawasaki Z800,
  7. Aprilia Caponord 1200,
  8. Moto Guzzi California 1400,
  9. Suzuki Inazuma 250,
  10. Honda Integra DCT,
  11. Honda NC700 DCT,
  12. Yamaha FJR1300,
  13. Yamaha XJ6 Diversion,
  14. Victory Boardwalk,
  15. Hyosung 650GT and
  16. The Benelli 600.

About the author

Buks has had a passion for two-wheels since childhood. After his first motorcycle, a fire-breathing two-stroke Yamaha TZR250, he realized he was hooked. When Buks isn't writing for UltimateVelocity he enjoys practicing martial arts, gardening and spending time with his family.